Facing windward in the Maya Tankah restaurant (JDW)

June 20, 2006

The last couple days have been so tranquil that often, seeing the empty sun chairs, quiet pools, and the skeleton crew sitting at the beach cantina, I wonder what exactly it is about the weather that makes June the low season. My shoulders and knees and the tops of my feet are fried from yesterday's sun (poor sunscreen coverage, not to be repeated), and except for a few tall, narrow castle-looking clouds, we had a tremendous helping of blue skies. But just a few minutes ago I heard some thunder, the sky is hazy, and the trees don't cast shadows any more. I can still see pretty far into the horizon, towards the sea, the direction the wind's coming from, and it doesn't look like a storm yet, but when I'm done writing this I'm going to re-roof the rental Jeeps, because, even if it doesn't look like it yet, it definitely feels like rain.

The other guests all seem to be families or couples, and when we were sitting by the bar earlier this afternoon, excitedly brainstorming ideas for our projects, I'm pretty sure they didn't know what to make of us. Work is the furthest thing from their minds; I'm sure we seem depraved. But after the meeting at the Community Tours Sian Ka'an office this afternoon, we definitely were fired up. There's a lot to do, and it seems like a new idea or detail comes up every time we take up the topic, and personally I have to remind myself that even though I'm home in less than two weeks the project work is expected to go on beyond that. As Megan and I dig into the details and determine what exactly needs to be done, I'm sure it will help to think in terms of steps towards a goal, rather than attempting to do it all in a single step.

(Postscript: Didn't rain afterall… Low season? Bah! & I actually wouldn't mind some tropical showers.)

Leave a Reply

